Day 28

Media Mayhem

I refer of course to the ‘farce’ which is the British media. I do not buy a newspaper, as I consider them to be largely full of gossip, scandal and anything other than news. I do however watch the news. I have tended to favour BBC news as it is generally well respected and accurate. I mean accurate merely in the sense that what they tell us is factually correct. However, what about what they fail to tell us!

I believe we should hear ‘all sides’ of a story to be able to make a judgement about the whole truth. However, I find the news is more and more politically motivated and what they leave out is sometimes as significant as what they leave in. Maybe it has always been that way and I am just looking at it in a different light – I’m not entirely sure.

It would appear lately that the most news worthy items are what the politicians are doing here and abroad; yet huge stories of suffering and disaster are completely ignored. Why is this? Does it not ‘fit’ the political agenda? Often I think it is because the country in question does not directly have an impact on life here in the UK. For example, the kidnapping of over 200 Nigerian girls by Boko Haram last year was not reported until days after, only surfacing when it had started circulating around social media. There are many such examples; and what about those we never hear about? When watching the news we need to question – who wants us to know this and why is it significant? Also what is being left out?

Leave a Reply

