Day 25

The Serenity Prayer

‘God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and wisdom to know the difference.’

This age old prayer still holds a lot of truth and I feel has wise words to offer, even today. There is so much that happens to us that we have not got control over. Trying to control these things can be an uphill struggle that no-one wins. Sometimes just to accept that we can do nothing about a situation can release us from the hold it has over us.

I am myself a self-confessed control freak. I love order. I am very organised and am obsessed with routine and predictability. I do not like surprises, nor to feel as if I am not the one in control. However, this can sometimes mean being stuck in a rut. I lack the courage to change things and would rather stick with how things are, than face the uncertainty of change. Change is not always a bad thing however; it can be enlightening, refreshing, invigorating and a positive experience.

How can we know the difference? This is a tricky one. Sometimes we just have to give it a try. If you want to make a big change or even lots of little changes, it may not be the best idea to do it all at once. “Baby steps” works for me. If we can change a bit at a time, not only will it not be a big shock to the system, it will also allow us to get used to the changes as we go along and see what works for us. When making decisions I would always say ‘give it to God’, He knows the plan and has the wisdom.

Leave a Reply

