Day 23

Personal responsibility

Yesterday I touched on the idea of personal responsibility. I am going to now discuss this in more depth. Warning – do not read on if you are easily offended.

Not all illnesses are created equal. Let me explain. Some people are born with an illness or life limiting disease. Some are born with a disability – this is not their fault. Some illnesses happen through no fault of our own – please do not think I am saying everything happens because of something we do.

However, the personal choices we make – namely what we eat, drink, smoke, ingest, use on our bodies – all these things can either make us well, or potentially make us sick. This is where personal responsibility comes in. I think we owe it to ourselves to try to keep as healthy as we can – that is a personal choice. Some people will live hard and fast – they may also die that way. I speak from personal experience. Although we have no absolute proof, it is very likely that the choices they made, whether thought through or not, probably contributed to the early deaths of both my parents. This is a hard thing to come to terms with. If they had made wiser decisions, they may have been around for longer – the sad fact is we will never know.

As I said before, I am not here to judge, merely to raise questions and encourage people to think. I know I want to be around and be as well as I can be for as long as I can be. No guarantees, but I shall try. That is my choice, what is yours?

Leave a Reply

