Day 11

‘Choose Life’

Being a child of the 70’s and 80’s I remember well pop group Wham and their slogan t-shirts, Choose Life. Whether this was just for fun or a political anti-abortion or anti-suicide statement is unclear. The 90’s film Trainspotting coined the phrase – ‘Choose life, choose a job’, sound advice indeed. However, the phrase originates from the Bible long before that. “This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life that you and your children may live and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to his voice, and hold fast to Him.” (Deuteronomy 30:19)

I guess it means different things to different people. To me, it means we can choose to live a full life or a mediocre life. Don’t get me wrong, there are days when I love to plod along and take my time; other times however I feel that my life is racing along and there is just not enough time to do all the things I want to do. We have a finite amount of time on Earth, for some of us it is short; for others it is long; but for most of us hopefully somewhere in between. I want to make the most of all the moments I can; do all the good I can and experience all the things I dream of doing.

Some days choosing life just means doing the best we can do on that day. Sometimes just to get up, show up and do the best you can do, with what you have got, at any given moment – that is enough! Some days you will be amazing, others not so much. Do the best you can do – that is all anyone can ask of you. Choose life!

Leave a Reply

