Day 6

So is there a God?

Well you may have read my last few posts and be sitting there thinking, she just doesn’t know what she is talking about, of course there is no God (hopefully not my Church friends,but others of you). How could there be so much darkness and hurt in the world if there is a loving God? The truth is bad stuff happens; to all of us. God never promised us an easy life – yet it seems that is what we want. In fact for those who believe in Him he said  “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33). He promised only that he would sustain us through those troubles. The truth is God is more interested in building our character than in giving us an easy ride!

This has been my experience. Losing my Mum and Dad quite young and in horrible circumstances, I have often felt far from God; angry and in pain. How could a God that loved me do this to me? Yet, I still had faith in Him and belief that He sees the bigger picture. Gradually He pulled me back to him and kept me going through some very dark, dark times.

Yes, I agree there is trouble in the world, and evil (this is not from God but from the side of darkness). It is also because God gave man free will. Man can be sadly lacking in wisdom and make bad choices which impact people in a negative way – this could be in a small way, the man or woman on the street; or a grand way which impacts many – in the case of world leaders. We make choices that affect ourselves and others every day.

Ultimately I trust in God because I know the end of the story! It is a choice.

More tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

